Participating institutions

Two French institutions are currently operating magnetic observatories under the auspices of the BCMT:

Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris, IPGP (11 observatories),
École et Observatoire des Sciences de la Terre, EOST (5 observatories).

The instrumental developments are carried out at the Chambon-la-Forêt observatory, where the IPGP technical team is based.

Additional funding and staffing is provided to the BCMT by various French agencies:

Commissariat à l’Énergie Atomique (CEA),
Centre National d’Études Spatiales (CNES),
Institut National des Sciences de l’Univers (INSU),
Institut Polaire Français Paul-Émile Victor (IPEV),
Institut de Recherche pour le Développement (IRD).

Worldwide BCMT operations are made possible by collaborations with the following foreign institutions:

• Institute of Geophysics, Space Science & Astronomy (IGSSA), Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia,
Borok Geophysical Observatory, Institute of Physics of the Earth of the Russian Academy of Sciences (BGO IPERAS), Russia,
Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia, Italy,
Dirección Meteorológica de Chile (DMC), Chile,
• Lanzhou Institute of Seismology, China Earthquake Administration (LIS CEA), China,
• Institute of Geophysics, Vietnamese Academy of Science and Technology (IG VAST), Vietnam,
Centre de Recherche en Astronomie, Astrophysique et Géophysique (CRAAG), Algeria,
Institut et Observatoire Géophysique d’Antananarivo (IOGA), Madagascar.